Liberal International British Group Annual General Meeting 28 November 2023 at 7.15pm Held on Zoom

Present: Irina Von Wiese, Mark Smulian, Wendy Kyrle-Pope, Adrian Hyyrylainen Trett, Peter Cummings, David Chalmers, Iain Smith, Alison Andrews, Phil Bennion, John Pindar, George Cunningham, Hannah Bettsworth, Sean Bennett, Alieu Cisay, Joyce Onstad, Larry Ngan, Tom Barney, Patrick Salaun

Apologies: Rebecca Tinsley, Paul Brighton, Derek McAuley, Sir Graham Watson, Michael Meadowcroft, Denis Loretto.

Minutes: The minutes of the 2022 AGM were agreed with no matters arising.

Chair's report: IVW had previously circulated a report, in which she described the year's activities, and thanked Stewart Rayment for editing InterLib. PB noted there would be an LI bureau election at the Santiago congress in late 2024. DC noted work being done by FIRC on countering populism. It was agreed that following up on this with an LIBG event on the Dutch and Polish elections would be useful.

Accounts: WKP presented the previously circulated accounts which were approved.

Membership: AHT said there were 153 members plus some supporters to whom he would write. He would press Liberal Democrat HQ for better promotion of party AOs to the wider membership.

Elections: Nominations were received for:

President Sal Brinton Chair IVW Secretary MS Treasurer WKP Membership officer: AHT

Executive members: Carol Weaver, PB, DC, Steven Kuo, RT, GC, JO, SB (YL). The executive can fill vacancies.

Election of auditor: Sheila Stuart was re-elected.

There followed a short discussion about activities for the coming year. Guest speaker Christine Jardine was unable to join the meeting, which therefore closed at 8.30pm.